Blogs > In the Huddle

An inside look at area high school football.

Monday, November 29, 2010

Farris, Franklin honored for All-Ohio

The Division I and II All-Ohio teams were announced on Monday and Elyria senior defensive lineman Chase Farris (6-foot-6, 267 pounds) was named first team All-Ohio for D-1.

Amherst had a trio of players make third team All-Ohio, including senior wide receiver Tyler Parrish (6-0, 170), senior linebacker Marty Thomas (5-10, 190) and senior Mat Malloy (6-0, 185).

There were no first-teamers in D-II, but Sandusky coach Mike Franklin was named coach of the year, along with three other coaches.

Franklin led the Blue Streaks to a 6-4 regular season record and an upset win against No. 1 Avon in the D-II playoffs.

Sandusky senior running back Cordney Strickland (6-1, 185) was named to the second team, along with Avon Lake senior defense lineman Brian Mihalik (6-7, 245).

Avon Lake seniors wide receiver Ronnie Willoughby (6-4, 190)and defensive lineman Andrew Bohan (6-4, 265), along with Avon junior wide receiver Matt Eckhardt (6-0, 175) made the third team.

Sandusky's Jaron Green and Norwalk's Matt Williams were named special mention in D-II.

Labels: , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home